St. Mary's Cathedral, San Francisco, Sunday Afternoon Musical Meditations

November 15, 2021
St. Mary's Cathedral
Ruffatti organ, Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, San Francisco

The Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, San Francisco, California, announces Sunday Afternoon Musical Meditations for October through December: 

Sunday, November 21, 4:00 pm: Michal Gaw (Poland), Organ. Works by Reubke, Vierne, and de Grigny.

Sunday, November 28, 4:00 pm: Michal Gaw (Poland), Organ. Works by Bach and Mendelssohn.

Sunday, December 5, 4:00 pm: Jin Kyung Lim, Organ. Don Knuth’s “Fantasia Apocalyptica”, Part I.

Sunday, December 12, 4:00 pm: Jin Kyung Lim, Organ. Don Knuth’s “Fantasia Apocalyptica”, Part II.

Sunday, December 12, 7:00 pm (NOTE TIME!): Pacific Edge Voices, Ash Walker, Director. Seasonal program of choral music.

Sunday, December 19, 7:00 pm (NOTE TIME!): “Cookies and Carols” performance by the St. Brigid School Honor Choir and St. Mary’s Cathedral Choir, followed by cookies downstairs. $25 adults or $15 for students and seniors. Under 5 free.

Sunday, December 26, 4:00 pm: “A Tietze Family Christmas.” Christoph Tietze, Organ and Baritone; Jeanette Wilkin Tietze, Piano and Soprano; Helena Tietze, Cello and Alto; Karl Tietze, Percussion and Bass; Teddy Tietze, Trumpet and Alto; Andrea Butler, Soprano. Christmas Music for voice and instruments.

Sunday, January 2, 4:00 pm: Epiphany Lessons and Carols, presented by St. Brigid School Honor Choir and Golden Gate Boyschoir and Bellringers.

Sunday, January 9, 4:00 pm: Ruth Kamas, Organ. Works by Bach, Diemer, Chaminade, Dixon, and Langlais.

Sunday, January 16, 4:00 pm: Justan Foster, Organ.

Sunday, January 23, 4:00 pm: David Troiano, Organ.

Sunday, January 30: NO RECITAL

Sunday, February 6, 4:00 pm: Domenico Severin (France), Organ.

Sunday, February 13, 4:00 pm: Grant Smith, Organ.

Sunday, February 20, 4:00 pm: Jennifer Pascual (New York, NY), Organ.

Sunday, February 27, 4:00 pm: Hans-Uwe Hielscher (Germany), Organ.

For information: smcsf.org.